Skip to main content

Resources for families

family guide to recovery cover

Family Guide To Recovery

Family-Based Treatment Guide cover

Family-Based Treatment Guide

Sibling guide cover

Sibling’s Guide to Family-Based Treatment

Image of What To Do When You Think Someone May Have An Eating Disorder infographic

What To Do When You Think Someone May Have An Eating Disorder

The Emily Program Outcomes Infographic

WithAll’s A Simple Guide for What to Say

STRIPED Report: Social and Economic Cost of Eating Disorders in the United States of America

Calculation of Expected Body Weight in Adolescents with Eating Disorders

Survive FBT

Author: Maria Ganci

Overcoming Binge Eating

Author: Christopher Fairburn

When Your Teen Has A Eating Disorder

Author: Lauren Muhlheim

How To Nourish Your Child Through An Eating Disorder

Author(s): Casey Crosbie and Wendy Sterling

Autism And Eating Disorders In Teens

Author(s): Fiona Fisher Bullivant and Sharleen Woods

Spotting Eating Disorder in Kids

How Do I Talk to My Children About Body Image?

I Think My Wife is Relapsing. What Can I Do to Help?

F.E.A.S.T

www.feast-ed.org

F.E.A.S.T. is an international organization of and for parents and caregivers to help loved ones recover from eating disorders by providing information and mutual support, promoting evidence-based treatment, and advocating for research and education to reduce the suffering associated with eating disorders.

Eating Disorders Coalition

www.eatingdisorderscoalition.org

This website is a compilation of professional organizations that are dedicated to research, policy and action in order to advocate on a federal level for people with eating disorders and their families.

National Alliance for Eating Disorders

www.allianceforeatingdisorders.com

A national non-profit organization providing referrals, education, and support for all eating disorders. The Alliance hosts free virtual therapist-led support groups (e.g., pro-recovery, larger bodied individuals, and LGBTQ+ groups) and has a national, interactive database for finding eating disorder care. 

Virtual Support Groups

The National Alliance for Eating Disorders offers free virtual support groups led by licensed eating disorder clinicians.

  • Pro-Recovery Support Groups:
    • Mondays, 9am PT, 11am CT, 12pm ET
    • Tuesdays, 4pm PT, 6pm CT, 7pm ET
    • Wednesdays, 6pm PT, 8pm CT, 9pm ET
    • Thursdays, 4pm PT, 6pm CT, 7pm ET
    • Fridays, 9am PT, 11am CT, 12pm ET
    • Saturdays, 8am PT, 10am CT, 11am ET
  • Larger Body Individuals Pro-Recovery Support Group: Mondays, 4pm PT, 6pm CT, 7pm ET
  • LGBTQ+ Pro-Recovery Support Group: Wednesdays, 4pm PT, 6pm CT, 7pm ET
  • Friends & Family Support Group: Thursdays, 4pm PT, 6pm CT, 7pm ET
  • Mom2Mom Support Group: Tuesdays, 1pm PT, 3pm CT, 4pm ET
  • Individuals Who Have Lost a Loved One Support Group: every third Monday of the month, 4pm PT, 6pm CT, 7pm ET 

Learn more and register on The Alliance’s website.

ED 101: Understanding Eating Disorders, Treatment, and Recovery

We know how overwhelming an eating disorder diagnosis can be for families and friends. The terminology. The process. The uncertainties. Share an evening with us to learn about eating disorders, our personalized treatment programs, and the path to recovery. Our knowledgeable staff at The Emily Program answer common concerns of families and friends facing eating disorder issues for the first time. You’ll leave with valuable resources and a better understanding of this serious mental health issue. We recommend family and friends who are new to eating disorders attend this session at least once before joining a Friends and Family Session for a better experience in the group.

Virtual Event: Eating Disorders 101, Hosted by Jessica Sydnes, Therapist at our Seattle residential location: 2nd Thursday of the month, 6–7pm PT, 8-9pm CT, 9-10pm ET.

Upcoming dates: June 13, July 11, Aug. 8, Sept. 12, Oct. 10   Join us via Zoom.

Friends and Family Sessions

The Emily Program offers free evening Friends and Family Sessions open to the public. No need to register; just drop in. (Please note: This group is intended for family and friends providing support to loved ones with an eating disorder. If you are a client or potential client, please attend our ED 101 or Recovery Night events if you would like to learn more.)

Virtual Event: Friends and Family Session, Hosted by Savanna Norton, LSWAIC, Program Therapist at our Seattle outpatient location: 1st and 3rd Thursday of the month, 6–7pm PT, 8-9pm CT, 9-10pm ET. Please note, there will be no Friends & Family session 5/16.

Upcoming dates: June 6, Aug. 1, Sept. 5, Oct. 3  Join us via Zoom

And: June 20, July 18, Aug. 15, Sept. 19, Oct. 17  Join us via Zoom

Share Your Story

There’s Help. There’s Hope! The Emily Program is a warm and welcoming place where individuals and their families can find comprehensive treatment for eating disorders and related issues. We want to hear your story. Email us (blog@emilyprogram.com) and ask how you can become a contributor to our blog or podcast.

Other Community Events

Check back soon for future community events.

Get help. Find hope.