Skip to main content
June 1, 2021

Staff Spotlight, Caitlyn Starcher

Staff Spotlight, Caitlyn Starcher

Tell us about yourself!

Hello! My name is Caitlyn Starcher, but everyone calls me Cait. I have been at The Emily Program’s Columbus location for almost three years and have been involved in pretty much every one of our programs at one point. My current position is half outpatient therapist and half intake clinician. Since our location is growing, my position will be changing soon and I will become half outpatient therapist and half outpatient FBT (family-based treatment) therapist. I received my Master of Social Work from The Ohio State University.

Describe the career path that led you to The Emily Program.

Prior to working at The Emily Program, I worked in general mental health and did outpatient therapy for a wide variety of populations. I mostly worked with teens and adults and did some minor substance use therapy as well. Before that, I interned and worked at a private practice near The Ohio State University’s campus, where I saw a lot of college students and a lot of our work was focusing on adjustment to college. I chose to work at TEP because I was interested in eating disorders and excited to become an “expert” in a field in comparison to the generalist roles I had before.

What’s something you’re really proud of?

My husband and I bought a house last summer! It was very exciting to accomplish that during quarantine and because the market in Columbus is extremely competitive. We have been enjoying decorating and making some updates throughout the year. I love to entertain, so I am really excited that some of the COVID restrictions are finally being lifted.

What’s a fun fact about yourself?

I know I’m biased, obviously, but I believe I have the cutest cat in the world. He’s an adorable grey and white domestic shorthair, but what’s fun about him is that he has a white mustache.

How do you spend your time off work?

The quarantine has forced me to pick up some indoor hobbies. I crochet, I’ve gotten into indoor gardening with herbs and house plants, I love interior decorating, and I’m learning guitar. When it’s nice outside, I do enjoy going for walks, going to concerts, and just spending time with friends.

Get help. Find hope.