Skip to main content
January 5, 2024

Staff Spotlight, Adina Ornstein

Staff Spotlight, Adina Ornstein

Tell us about yourself!

My name is Adina Ornstein (she/her), and I am a Physician Assistant (PA) working at the Cleveland Outpatient & Day Treatment site for Adolescents and Adults in Ohio. I am on the medical team for the Partial Hospitalization Program (PHP).

I have been a PA for 15 years and with The Emily Program for over four years. I moved to Cleveland from New York and live here with my husband and four young children.

What does a typical day look like for you at The Emily Program?

I see clients and review their vitals, labs, electrocardiograms (ECG), and physical symptoms. My team and I diligently manage our clients’ medical needs while they are in PHP. Our medical monitoring may include supplementing electrolytes, adjusting a medication, or starting a new treatment for symptom management. If needed, we collaborate with a client’s outside medical providers or refer them to specialists. We will also help admit a client to the hospital if medically necessary.

What’s unique about treating eating disorders as compared to other conditions?

I love working with eating disorders, as they call for a multi-disciplinary team approach. I love collaborating with all the different people who make up a treatment team in order to best help our clients. We are all constantly discussing and fine-tuning our approach to best fit the client’s needs at that time.

What is one thing you hope to achieve in 2024?

This coming year, I would like to continue to speak in the community and give educational talks about the medical complications of eating disorders. It is so important to get that information out there, especially in schools. We find that the more people know, the more they are willing to talk to someone and ask for help. 

If you could do another job just for a day, what would it be?

It would definitely be a Sign Language Interpreter. I have studied American Sign Language for many years and have always wanted to use my skills to help communicate with the Deaf community.

What do you like to do when you aren’t working?

When I am not working, I like to spend time with my family. As the kids get older, we try to go on more trips with them, and it’s the best. We like listening to music around the house—singing and having dance parties at night are the most fun. 



Get help. Find hope.